2018 Winners 2019-01-18T20:04:52+00:00

2018 度 水 空气 粮食奖获奖者

水项目组别

雨水收集

三万座水井系统

屋顶蓄水计划

印度喀拉拉邦,特里苏尔地区

在这个地区,72%的家庭靠挖井取水,每到干旱的夏季,这些井便会干涸,而有季候雨的冬天则不会。Mazhapolima计划迎接挑战,找出方法将季候雨水积蓄到井里。

这项计划利用屋顶收集雨季的雨水补充干涸的水井。住户们在屋顶安装一条管道,将水直接引入井或钻孔内,然后储存起来。这种装置能收集到充足的水,让他们的家庭渡过整个旱季。这个方法同时也消减了其他常见的水质问题,例如,在开放井中的滨海盐碱化和铁含量高的问题。

参与该计划的住户们发现,这个方法杜绝了夏天缺水的情况。迄今为止,这项计划已经安装了超过三万座积蓄雨水补充水井的系统。

现在,该计划正忙于安装新系统,以回应强劲的需求。

屋顶蓄水计划希望将这个好消息传播到印度整个喀拉拉邦,以及世界各地。WAFA 奖可以展示这种方法来缓解日益严重的全球清水危机。

空气项目组别

家庭健康计划

健康家庭 – 745個太阳能炉灶

尼加拉瓜妇女太阳能项目基金会(FUPROSOMUNIC)

尼加拉瓜

遍布尼加拉瓜常用的是燃柴炉灶,污染室内的空气,导致严重的肺部疾病及其他健康问题,特别是农村的儿童和老年人。

FUPROSOMUNIC 基金会动员了社区团体去开发更健康的生活方式:建造太阳能炉灶和食品烘干机,并学习营养相关知识、生物密集型家庭园艺、水质净化、儿童护理以及其他重要的知识。太阳能炉灶明显降低了室内的空气污染,及滥伐树木的情况。营养和园艺方面的课程带来了健康的逐步改善。有些家庭还可以出售剩余的农产品,增加收入。该课程让参与的妇女发挥出更大的能量。

该项目旨在为更多的家庭提供专注于太阳能炉灶、食品烘干机,和生物密集型家庭园艺的工作坊。这项训练将令尼加拉瓜的社区更有能力自主去改善他们的生活品质,制造连锁反应去激励他们的邻里及更广泛的社会。

粮食项目组别

渔场计划

水产养殖:345名妇女的事业

人与地球生命基金会 (PPLF)

尼日利亚乡间,Enugu, Port-Harcourt, Abuja 和 Lagos的市区中心

在这些区域的村落,由孤立无援的妇女照顾一整个大家庭是很普遍的情况。在渔场计划之前, 她们的收入主要是靠自给农业。

基金会(PPLF)将当地经济由自给农业转型为水产养殖业,特别是养鱼业。该机构旨在教育当地妇女独立经营这个生意,并从中获利。

超过600名妇女接受了培训,其中345人开了自己的渔场。 她们中很多人的家庭收入增加了六成。在这345名妇女中,231位更是通过努力,开设了其他的水产养殖业务。由每个社区开展的一项渔场“小额信贷计划”,创造了收入,并为妇女们开展其他水产养殖业务提供贷款。

下一步是要扩展项目的规模,协助邻近南部和东南部社区的二百名妇女建一个上万尾鲶鱼规模的渔场。渔场也会充当水产养殖学习中心的角色。

青年组别

水资源管理器计划

节省超过15万升水

Ebomvini 小学

Godloza,南非夸祖鲁的纳塔尔省

周期性干旱摧毁了 Ebomvini 小学所在的 Godloza 等农村地区。Ebomvini 学校的工作人员和学生联手开发创新的用水、保养和回收的解决方案。他们还向更广泛的社区进行教育,让他们认识这些方案。

在校内,学生们开发了回收灰白水、升级回收废物、开发永续培育花园、设计生态砖池塘、甚至创造生态砖家具的创新方法。他们一直积极参与专案的各个阶段: 设计、执行、维修和监控。

为了教育更广泛的社区,员工和学生发起了一个成功的‘水节’, 是该地区的首创。学生创建和操作丰富多彩的展台,展示各种有关水挑战的解决方案,包括使用审核、过滤、永续培育技术、湿地保护和植物内的 “秘密水”。在音乐和舞蹈的辅助下, 这个节日吸引了来自1200人社区的875位访客。

尽管互联网只能有限地使用, Embovini 的工作人员和学生创造了20个博客和10项挑战,包括自制尖滴水龙头、外来植物移除、种植本地的豆类、永续培育园艺,和素食烹饪。他们带头开展社区项目, 如 Emzimkhuli 河清理运动,以及 Ray Nzkonyeni 市的水务研讨会。他们还在 Eskom 科学博览会和市政总部展示了他们的成就。

迄今为止,该倡议已节省了超过15万升的水, 获得了75个节水承诺, 建立了定期湿地清理运动,建立了一个永久的永续培育花园, 并推出了长期的节水计划,例如水桶系统等。

Winners 2018 2018-11-06T04:07:22+00:00

2018 Water, Air and Food Winners

WAFA Award Statuette

Water Category

Rainwater Harvesting

30,000 Well Systems

Mazhapolima

Trichur District, Kerala State, India

72% of district households rely on wells which dry up in the summer season. Mazhapolima took up the challenge of conserving winter monsoon rainwater in the wells.

Mazhapolima harvests rainwater runoff from rooftops during the rainy season. Households install a pipeline in the roof directly connected to a well / borehole where they store the water. This sustains them throughout the dry season. Using rain water also avoids other common problems like coastal saline ingress and high iron content in open wells.

Participating households have found that ‘well recharging’ has put an end to water scarcity in the summer. The project has installed over 30,000 rainwater collection and well recharging systems. Mazhapolima is now busy installing new systems to meet growing demand.

Mazhapolima wishes to spread the good news throughout Kerala State, India and the world. A WAFA Award can showcase this approach to relieve the growing global water crisis.

Air Category

Family Health Program

Healthy Homes – 745 Solar Ovens

FUPROSOMUNIC

Nicaragua

Wood-fueled stoves, common throughout Nicaragua, pollute household air, causing high levels of lung disease and other health problems, particularly among rural children and older people.

FUPROSOMUNIC has mobilized community groups to develop healthier lifestyles: constructing solar ovens and food dryers, as well as learning about nutrition, bio-intensive home gardening, water purification, child care and other important topics. The solar ovens have diminished indoor air pollution considerably and lessened deforestation. Successive health improvements have followed from nutrition training and the gardening program. Some households’ income has also increased from selling surplus produce. The programme has empowered participating women.

The programme aims to offer workshops to more families, with a focus on solar ovens and food dryers and bio-intensive home gardens. This training will empower Nicaraguan communities to improve their wellbeing, creating a ripple effect to inspire their neighbours and the broader society.

Food Category

The Fish Farm Project

Aquaculture Farming: 345 Women’s Businesses

People and Planet Life Foundation (PPLF)

Rural Nigeria, near the urban centres of Enugu, Port-Harcourt, Abuja, Lagos

In this area, large families are common, often headed only by women who receive no external help. Before “The Fish Farm Project”, their main source of income was subsistence agriculture.

PPLF has shifted the local economy from subsistence agriculture to aquaculture, in particular fish farming. The organization educates local women to run this business independently and profitably.

Over 600 women have been trained, and 345 have established their own fish farms. In many cases their household income has increased by 60%. Of these 345 women, 231 have scaled up their endeavours by establishing additional aquaculture businesses. A fish farm ‘micro credit scheme’ developed in each community has generated income, providing loans to women for establishing other aquaculture businesses.

The next step is to scale up the project with a 10,000 capacity catfish farm for 200 women in nearby communities. The farm will also serve as an aquaculture learning centre.

Youth Category

Water Explorer Program

 150,000+ litres saved

Ebomvini Primary School

Godloza, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa

 Periodic droughts devastate rural areas like Godloza where Ebomvini Primary School is located. Ebomvini School staff and students have teamed up to develop innovative solutions for water usage, conservation, and recycling. They have also educated the wider community on these solutions.

Within the school the students have developed innovative approaches to recycling grey water, upcycling waste, developing a permaculture garden, designing an ec0-brick pond, and even creating ec0-brick furniture. They have been active in all phases of their projects: design, execution, maintenance, and monitoring.

To educate the wider community, staff and students initiated a successful Water Festival, a regional first. Students created and operated colourful stands showing solutions to a range of water challenges, including usage auditing, filtration, permaculture techniques, wetland conservation, and “secret water” within plants. Complemented by music and dance, the festival drew 875 visitors from the 1200 persons community.

Despite limited internet access, Embovini staff and students created 20 blogs and 10 challenges, including MYO (Make your Own) tippy taps, alien plant removal, growing indigenous pulses, permaculture gardening, and a vegetarian cook up. They spearheaded community projects like the Emzimkhuli River cleanup campaign, and a water workshop for the Ray Nzkonyeni municipality. They also showcased their achievements at the Eskom Science Expo and the municipality headquarters.

To date the initiative has saved over 150,000 litres of water, garnered 75 water-saving pledges, established a regular wetland cleanup campaign, created a permanent permaculture garden, and launched long-term water conservation projects like a bucket system.