学校水站 – 激励社区自主性

在肯尼亚,超过半数人口负担不起安全的饮用水。 小村庄的学生常常要徒步几英里到附近村庄去取干净的饮用水。结果是,他们往往由于缺课而辍学。

企业化的方式

温瑞迪,在卢旺达一个由七个兄弟姐妹组成的大型农村家庭中长大。 在肯尼亚内罗毕,他成立了International Transformation (ITF),一个由青年领导的非营利机构,在肯尼亚,卢旺达和坦桑尼亚发展青年的领导力和有创造力的创业精神。2009年,ITF发现缺乏负担得起的又洁净的水是阻碍儿童发展和家庭活力的主要问题。

在2013年,ITF与荷兰的 ‘Join the Pipe 基金会’(JTP)合作,为肯尼亚农村的学校设计和建造水站。这项创新设计的特点是一个节水型自来水站,洗手用滴水型水龙头,可循环再生的水瓶,便捷的运输车。

共同的责任

在与ITF讨论后,学校行政部门正式参与该项目。 据了解,学生将在老师指导下管理业务。 全部安装费用约为1万美元。 ITF,学校和社区居民一起合作,估计在24个月内清偿成本所需的资金。将净水销售给社区居民以资建设成本。 JTP通过在荷兰的买一送一活动,资助了自来水站,瓶子,卫生设施和推车。

学校和ITF会计保持详细纪录,并且每日更新和核对资料。在老师的支持下,学生每周和每月向ITF提交报告。

方面受惠

迄今为止,肯尼亚的三个地区已安装了九个水亭,惠及约4千名学生和7万名社区居民。 这些令人鼓舞的结果推动ITF将项目扩展到卢旺达和坦桑尼亚。

这个以社区为基础的商业模式在不依赖于第三方的条件下,为整个社区提供经济实惠的饮用水。 它还在学生-社区未来的领导者-中培养宝贵的商业技能。

在环境方面,该项目减少了由生产和运输水瓶和容器造成的塑料垃圾和二氧化碳排放。

展望未来

ITF计划为所有参与的学校举办年会,分享他们的经验和专业知识。 会议将为建立一个国际企业网络奠定基础,以应对社区的社会挑战和资助可持续教育。

2018-07-24T18:38:38+00:00

waterkiosk

School Water Kiosks – Empower the Community

The problem

In Kenya over half the population lacks access to affordable, safe drinking water. School children in small villages often have to walk miles to nearby villages to get clean drinking water. As a result, they are often absent from school and tend drop out altogether.

An Entrepreneurial Approach

Venuste Kubwimana, grew up in a large rural family of seven siblings in Rwanda. In Nairobi, Kenya, he established the International Transformation Foundation (ITF), a youth-led nonprofit organization to develop youth leadership and creative entrepreneurship in Kenya, Rwanda, and Tanzania. In 2009, ITF identified lack of affordable, clean water as a major issue impeding children’s development and family resilience.

In 2013, ITF partnered with Netherlands-based Join the Pipe Foundation (JTP) to design and produce water kiosks for schools across rural Kenya. The innovative design features: a water-saving tap station, drip taps for hand washing, recyclable water bottles, easy push transport carts.

Shared Responsibility

After discussion with ITF, a school administration commits formally to the project; it is understood that students will manage the business under teacher guidance. A complete installation costs approximately US$10,000. ITF, the school and community members work together to estimate the funds needed to liquidate the costs within 24 months; water sales to community members funds construction costs. JTP has funded tap stations, bottles, sanitation facilities, and carts through a Buy One Give One” campaign in the Netherlands.

School and ITF book keepers maintain detailed records, updated and cross-checked daily. With teacher support, students submit weekly and monthly reports to ITF.

Multiple Benefits

To date, nine kiosks have been installed in three areas of Kenya, benefitting some 4000 students and 70000 community members. These encouraging results have led ITF to expand operations into Rwanda and Tanzania.

This community-based business provides affordable potable water to the entire community independent of third parties. It also develops valuable business skills among the schoolchildren, the community’s future leaders.

Environmentally, the initiative reduces plastic waste and CO2 emissions caused by the production and transport of water bottles and containers.  

Looking Forward

ITF plans to hold an annual conference for all participating schools to share their experiences and expertise. The conference will lay the foundation of an international entrepreneurial network to meet community social challenges and fund sustainable education.

Leave a Reply

*