恰帕斯州 (Chiapas) 水計劃 – 在墨西哥南部建立社區

问题

水是恰帕斯州的一个长期问题,特别是在土著玛雅社区。周期性的干旱阻碍了农业发展,威胁到几百万人的生计。因为要长途跋涉去取水,妇女们无法顾及其他

重要事务,孩子们也无法上学。水源性疾病还损害社区居民的健康,尤其是远离保健中心的社区。

区合作

‘关注美洲’ (Concern America – 简称CA) 成立于1972年,致力于墨西哥及世界各地其他发展中国家的长远社区发展。在上世纪九十年代初,CA 首推恰帕斯州水计划,为墨西哥恰帕斯州的土著玛雅社区提供清洁的水。目标是提供粮食保障、开拓经济收入、促进卫生、预防疾病,且让家庭成员得以妥善分配他们的时间。

CA的行动计划以“运用社区内最大的资源 : 人力资源”为基础。社区成员举行会议,解释工作范围,并促进社区积极参与。他们成立了一个社区清水委员会,去接受技术援助,并致力维护水系统。该委员会包括一名积极的,并与当地主管部门有良好沟通的村领导,以及年轻且能够旅行的双语(西班牙语和玛雅)成员。一些社区成员经过仔细的培训,可以自己评估水系统及维护水计划的运作,而不需要外界的帮忙。

训练与技术支援对持续发展来说是至关重要的。成员主要负责水系统的连接、修理、更换及扩展容量方面的工作。所有材料和工具,都是他们所熟悉的,并且可以就地取材,随时供清水委员会使用。

恰帕斯州遭受着地区冲突、物资短缺和极端天气。纵然如此,当一个社区决定参与并准备就绪时,这些障碍从未阻止水系统计划向前推进。耐心和与社区之间良好的沟通往往能在一两个月内克服偶然出现的延误。迄今为止,恰帕斯水计划已在该区域建成40个水系统,惠及12000余人。

显著的改善

以前远途取水所浪费的时间,现在可转投在其他有用的工作上。水源性疾病大部分被消除,皮肤相关的疾病也大大减少。

这一切都归功于在集体成功的基础上发展的社区建设。社区展示了他们的自豪! 乡村水系统的落成典礼,往往伴随着富有宗教和文化色彩的庆祝活动。很多人用心在他们水缸上画画,经常由学校儿童操笔,描绘出他们村落历史的风貌。

下一步计划

恰帕斯州水计划的下一步,包括在三个社区安装五个新的水系统和建造新的水过滤器,与此同时,在社区成员间扩大培训面,以及改进监测和评估。

这些行动会直接使墨西哥恰帕斯州种植咖啡的玛雅社区内六十多个家庭中的三百人受惠。

 复制的解决方案

除了水和卫生设施,该机构遍及整个拉丁美洲和非洲的,关注卫生、教育和创收等方面的工作,也同样遵循激励社区自主去承担责任这一模式。CA也一直很愿意和其他机构合作与分享。

2018-08-16T23:47:22+00:00

chiapas

The Chiapas Water Project – Building Community in the South of Mexico

The Problem

Water is a chronic issue in Chiapas State, particularly among the indigenous Maya communities. Periodic drought impedes agriculture, threatening the livelihood of millions. The consequent need to fetch water from long distances prevents women from attending to other priorities and children from attending school. Water-borne diseases also damage the health of communities, particularly those far from health centres.

Working with the Community

Founded in 1972, Concern America (CA) focusses on long-term community development in Mexico and other developing countries throughout the world. In the early 1990s, CA launched The Chiapas Water Project “to provide clean water to indigenous Mayan communities in Chiapas, Mexico.” The goals were to ensure access to food, generate income, promote hygiene, prevent disease, and distribute time fairly among household members.

CA’s action plan is based on “working with the most abundant resource in the communities: the people themselves.” Meetings are held with community members to explain the scope of the work and foster community involvement. A community water committee is established to receive technical assistance and commit to maintaining the system. The committee includes an active village leader with connections to governing structures, and younger members who are bilingual (Spanish and Maya) and able to travel. A few community members are trained carefully to assess the water system and maintain the water project without outside intervention.  

Training and technical assistance are critical to sustainability. They focus on connecting, repairing, replacing, and expanding capacity. All materials and tools are familiar, locally accessible, and readily available to the water committee.

Although Chiapas suffers from conflict, material poverty, and extreme weather, these obstacles have never prevented a water system project from moving forward once a community is committed and ready. Patience and good communication with the community have always overcome occasional delays within a month or two. To date, Concern America has built 40 water systems in the region, benefitting more than 12,000 people.

Visible Benefits

Time lost on fetching water is now devoted to other useful tasks. Water-borne illnesses are largely eliminated and skin-related illnesses greatly reduced.

Underlying all of this is community building resulting from a collective success. And communities demonstrate their pride! Religious and cultural celebrations always accompany inauguration of a village’s system. Many take great care to paint their water tanks, often involving the school children, who depict their village’s history.

Upcoming Ventures

Next steps of The Chiapas Water Project include installation of five additional water systems and construction of additional water filters in three communities. This is combined with additional training diffusion among community members, and improvement of monitoring and evaluation practices.

These will directly benefit 300 members in some 60 families of the Mayan coffee-growing community in Chiapas, Mexico.

A Replicable Solution

CA’s community-centered approach can be replicated in any number of situations, be they water systems or other community projects.  The organization’s work throughout Latin America and in Africa on health, education, and income generation (in addition to water and sanitation) follows the same model of building community empowerment and ownership.  CA is always open to sharing and collaborating with other groups.

Comments

  1. rodrigue Vallee

    Reply

    je suis d’accord avec toi mon ami Bruno nous sommes de retour au et a Quebec pour y resteret je te souhaite bonne chance et si un jours je remporte de $$$ je vais penser a ton projet Rodrigue…

  2. Patrick and Kelly Yrarrázaval

    Reply

    Concern America is the real deal! They walk the talk, and they help communities with SUSTAINABLE projects. I know of no group that does this work better!!!

  3. donna rose

    Reply

    I totally support the good works of Concern America. They do what they say they are going to do. they will get this project done, one way or another! I love the work they do, it is inspiring.

  4. Roberto Tommasi

    Reply

    Vaaamoooossss que el agua es un derecho de [email protected]!!!!!

  5. DThanh

    Reply

    This is a great project. CA said and do good deed for humanity just as the Lord teaches us to Love God and love your neighbor!

Leave a Reply