烟草作物替代:中国的双赢

在中国,烟草种植构成了两难的困境。 一方面,它推动了一个数十亿美元的行业,为超过两千万农民提供了工作就业机会,而且是政府税收的一个重要来源。

另一方面,中国每年有一百万人死于与吸烟有关的疾病。烟草产业也危害环境,种植需要危险的农药,加工消耗大量的煤和木材,加重空气污染和森林砍伐。

烟草是劳动密集型作物,每公顷每年需要3000工时,是稻米的两倍。它也需要从地里吸收更多的养分。

也就是说,它并不提供食品的安全与保障——支撑中国经济和社会持续发展,日益紧迫的问题。

一个协作性的解决方案

一个可持续的解决方案,照顾到所有利益相关者的需求:农民,政府和城镇居民。中国最大的烟草产地云南省玉溪市农业局( YMBA ),提出种植产量收益等于或超过烟草的替代作物。中国政府对这项计划给予了大力支持。

2008年,YMBA与加州大学洛杉矶分校(UCLA)的研究人员合作,启动了一个烟草替代试点项目。通过在村会议上的公告和村民间的口口相传,YMBA与村干部合作,在三个地点共征集了458户农户,总计超过480公顷农田。实验点的农户设立了章程,并选出农民合作社的管理委员会,管理委员负责建立共识并发挥领导作用,合作社的责任包括通过大宗的采购,为社员提供尽可能低价的种子、农药和其他物资。

当地的农业专家为农民提供了培训和技术援助。有了这种支持,农民掌握了关键的生产和商业技能来提高产量,有效地储存作物,提供可靠的会计管理,进行市场调查,并出售他们的产品。

日益成功

到2010年,试点地区农户每亩年收入比该地区烟农平均高出21%至110%。

因此,从2011开始,YMBA已将该项目扩展到其他县。农民正在主动降低烟草的种植,转向其他作物。葡萄已被证明是收益最高的作物。整个地区还在继续从中获益,从2012年到2015年,玉溪市的人均纯收入增长超过3000元(484美元)。

双赢

虽然有别于传统的做法,烟草替代项目清楚地证明了,仔细及合作性的规划和实施,可以给所有利益相关者带来实际利益。它的成功应该激励世界各地类似的项目。

2018-07-24T18:42:40+00:00

tobacco

Tobacco Crop Replacement: A Win-Win for China

The problem

In China, tobacco cultivation has posed a dilemma. On one hand, it has fueled a multi-billion dollar industry, employing over 20 million farmers and providing major revenue to the government.

On the other hand, one million people die in China annually from tobacco-related illnesses. The tobacco industry also harms the environment. Cultivation requires dangerous pesticides. Curing consumes huge quantities of coal and wood, aggravating air pollution and deforestation.

A labour-intensive crop, tobacco requires 3,000 hours work annually per hectare, twice as much as rice. It also takes more nutrients from the land. That said, it provides no food security, an increasingly urgent issue underpinning China’s continued social and economic development.

A Collaborative Solution

A sustainable solution had to address the needs of all stakeholders: farmers, government, and citizens. The Yuxi Municipality Bureau of Agriculture (YMBA) in Yunnan Province, China’s largest tobacco producer, proposed planting alternative crops that would yield returns equalling or surpassing tobacco. The state government threw its support behind the initiative.

In 2008, YMBA started a pilot tobacco substitution project in collaboration with researchers from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). Through announcements at village meetings and by word of mouth, YMBA worked with village heads to recruit 458 farm families at three sites, totalling over 480 hectares. Villagers at the sites wrote the charter and elected the management board for a farmers’ cooperative. Board members were selected for consensus-building and leadership skills. The cooperative’s responsibilities included supplying seeds, pesticides, and materials to the membership at the lowest possible cost through bulk purchasing.

Local agricultural specialists provided farmers with training and technical assistance. With this support, the farmers mastered key production and business skills to produce high yields, store crops efficiently, provide reliable accounting, conduct market research, and sell their produce.

Growing Success

By 2010, farmers’ annual incomes at the pilot sites were 21% to 110% higher per acre than those of tobacco farmers in the area.

Since 2011, therefore, YMBA has been scaling the project up to other counties. Farmers themselves are taking the initiative to reduce tobacco cultivation in favour of other crops; grapes have proven to be the most profitable. The entire community continues to benefit. From 2012 to 2015, the per capita net income of Yuxi Municipality grew by more than 3000 yuan (US$484).

A Win-Win

The Tobacco Substitution Project is clear proof that careful, collaborative planning and execution can provide practical benefits to all stakeholders even in the face of traditional practices. Its success should inspire similar initiatives throughout the world.

Support WAFA 2016 winners

Comments

Leave a Reply

*