印度的环保企业,有益于人,有益于商业

 

双倍的挑战 

Ramesh Kumar Nibhoria先生非常关心在印度乡村的三大主要问题。首先,厨房和小型工业使用化石燃料,引起了一连串的环境和健康问题。其次,化石燃料释放出大量的二氧化碳。

焚烧农田收割后的残余物产生浓烟,危害当地的环境和人民。伐木作柴令树林凋萎。其三,乡村青年缺乏就业机会,便迁徙到城市去;乡村地区于是失去将来建立企业的人才,并受到经济停滞不前的威胁。

环保企业精神

Nibhoria先生对这些问题采用了处理大型企业的手法。自1990年开始,他一直致力于将生物燃料转化为能源这方面的工作,力求为厨房和微型工业找到可取代化石燃料的可持续环保能源。他于1999年创立NISHANT生物能源有限公司(NBPL),以创建生物质颗粒制造工厂和生产商业炉灶。

第一代的炉灶型号为生物质块状燃料炉,出现了辐射和热量控制方面的问题。NBPL 团队继续研发创新,在2010年,公司开始研发出生物质颗粒的科技,到2014年,他们已掌握了该项技术。NBPL的工作坊现在已建造出小型的生物质颗粒制造工厂和生物质颗粒燃料炉。无烟炉灶的设计和效能达到工业标准,适合于商用加热、煑食和煑沸的工作。营运成本方面,生物燃料远低于化石燃料,这也让乡村用户受惠。

NBPL以环保企业(GE) 的名字,开始用特许经营模式推广它的产品与服务。它对指定的地区发放独家零售权,通过简单的方式建立它的市场。NBPL在业务设立的整个过程中指导特许经营者:生物质颗粒的制造,燃料炉的安装及维修。 之后,特许经营者便可以完全独立营运了。

可观的结果

在环境方面,GE是个大赢家,它提供了洁净并且环境友好的服务,而成本极具竞争力,它带给用户的利益是显而易见的。

在经济方面,利益也是非常明显。在乡村社区之内,现在每间特许经营者的生物质颗粒工厂都为当地居民提供了工作机会。特许经营者享有独家权利,为特许经营范围内的所有燃料炉提供生物质颗粒。(生物质颗粒燃料炉是免费提供给使用者的,这是一个有力的市场工具。)

国际业务的可能性

到目前为止,GE通过自筹资金,以节俭的方式营运,同时借助社交媒体建立网上营销。它现在透过投资和拨款,已准备好将工厂和训练中心的规模扩大,为几千家小型企业提供服务。

NBPL展望将GE特许经营权推广至整个亚洲及非洲地区的巨大可能性。

2018-04-10T13:11:27+00:00

Leave A Comment

ge

Green Enterprise in India, Good for People, Good for Business

winner

A Double Challenge

Mr. Ramesh Kumar Nibhoria is concerned with three major problems in rural India. First, fossil fuels in kitchens and small industries cause a number of environmental and health problems. Second, they emit high levels of CO2. Burning post-harvest field residues produces smoke, harming both the environment and people in the area. Cutting wood for fuel depletes the forests. Third, lack of employment opportunities pushes rural youth to the cities, depriving the countryside of future entrepreneurs and threatening it with economic stagnation.

Green entrepreneurship

Mr. Nibhoria has adopted an entrepreneurial approach to both problems. Since 1990, he has been working in the area of biomass to energy conversion, striving to find sustainable green energy alternatives to fossil fuels in kitchens and micro industries. In 1999 he founded Nishant Bioenergy P Ltd (NBPL) to produce biomass pellet manufacturing plants and commercial stoves.

The first stove model, the Biomass Briquette Stove (Sanjha Chulha) had emission and heat control issues. The NBPL team continued innovating. In 2010 the company started developing biomass fuel pellet technology; by 2014 they had mastered the technology.  NBPL’s workshop now manufactures small biomass pellet plants and pellet-fueled stoves. The smoke-free stoves, of industry standard design and performance, are suitable for commercial heating, cooking, and boiling. Operating costs benefit rural users, as biofuel costs less than fossil fuels.

NBPL has started franchising its products and services under the Green Enterprise (GE) name. It markets a key-in-hand operation with exclusive retail rights to a defined region. NBPL mentors the franchisee throughout the process of setting up the business: biomass pellet making; pellet stove installation, and troubleshooting. After that, the franchisee is fully equipped to operate the business independently.

Promising Results

Environmentally, GE is a winner, providing clean, environmentally-friendly service at competitive cost. Its benefits to users are clear.

Economically, the benefits are also clear. Within rural communities, local residents now find employment in each franchise’s pellet factory. The franchise has exclusive rights to supply fuel pellets for all pellet stoves in its franchise area. (The pellet stoves are provided to consumers free of cost, a powerful marketing tool.)

International Possibilities

So far, GE has self-financed, operating frugally and marketing online through social media. It is now ready for scale up, through investment and grants, to a bigger factory and training centre to service thousands of small enterprises.  
NBPL envisions huge possibilities to replicate the GE franchise throughout Asia and Africa.

Comments

  1. Dennis C. Reker

    Reply

    Congratulations to Nishant and GE for their major contributions to the health of stove users and their families and for helping save our environment. A true success story!!

    Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

*